Digital Literacy – My first Self-Test

All of us were given a self-test to do before the start of the module. On a rating of scale 1 -5, I need to rate my level of digital literacy with 1 being no experience and 5 being the most experienced. Honestly speaking, I would think of myself nowhere close to being very experienced on any of the given questions. As stated in my introduction post, I’m not someone who builds on online profiling that much.

I rated ‘Accessing, managing and evaluating online communities’ one. I would say I really do not have much or even little experience on managing online information if you are referring to managing information shared about a particular product or even journal entries of my own. I’m really bad at evaluating online information. I do understand that not every online information is true all the time and the need of referencing and checking against other sources. However, I would usually choose to believe what I deemed as correct in my view but I will also take into consideration of the opposite opinions. This makes me struggle and sit on the fence many times.

I gave a rating of two to the following:

  • Participating in online communities
  • ‘Building online networks around an area of interest
  • Creating online materials (text, audio, images, video)

As of now, other than the online MANG2049 community, there is no other online community that I’m currently involved in. Even if I could recall some of past community that I was in, all of the communications has already died off as time passes. Therefore, it explains my little experience here. I remembered creating a network page for one of my past Perth trekking trip a few years ago; there were minor communications between myself and the members. I believe part of the reason was because we came from very different background and the way we see things are very different despite our goal may be the same. Honestly speaking, I’m not quite sure what do creating online materials really mean over here. For instance, in the area of images, are you talking about creating and editing my own images like Photoshop skills? I might have learnt Photoshop skills but I don’t think I could recall any of those now.

As for rest of the questions, I gave rating of three each to the following:

  • Collaborating with others
  • Managing your online identity
  • Managing your online privacy and security

There were times where I struggled to collaborate with others simply because I do not have the necessary skills that the other party needed and or I had a different opinion on the same topic. However, I understand there must always be a negotiation point that both parties have to agree in order to move on. If it has a beneficial output, most of the time, I will compromise but I will always aim at collaborating with others.

I did a little research on the term, ‘online identity’ because I wasn’t fully aware of the meaning behind it. Online identity, in simplest term is about how others identify you online. In the past, when I created an online account for myself, I usually will not put my real identity down for fear that someone may hack into my account and get myself into deep trouble without me realising it. However, the evolution of the online digital world changes and I decided that using my real identity allows me to connect with more people of the same interest. I will not go into the details now because I know there will be topic covering on this.

Last but not the least; managing my own privacy and security. I would not say I’m most experienced in this but I do know some of the ways of enforcing privacy and security towards my online account. More information will be covered in the later topics.

Thanks for reading and do comment if you find that certain point that I have shared can be further improved on. Stay tuned for more! See you! 😀

Leave a comment